Bad-Day Grinches & keeping attitudes elevated!

We recently went to the Capilano Suspension Bridge….

it was beautiful,

Despite our tropical rainforest Christmas!

We were in a down-pour! Rain splattered off the metal beams, sparkling light bulbs, and solid wood planks that we trotted onto.

The park courteously handed out our 5 small children-adult sized plastic ponchos that they swam in the whole time and/or tripped on while walking. We really tried to make the best of this very expensive adventure. We wanted to see the awe of a million lights while suspending off a million centimetre’s…yes, I am Canadian!

However, it was dark and nobody could see the ground. I don’t know about you but, I saw the famous swinging path, lined with wet slippery feet, with many people weighing it down; and my scientific, non-mathematical, futuristically preventive, highly imaginative brain, screamed at me and told me NOOOOO WAYYY! I calculated my educated guess and examined just how and when that baby was going to fall–how I wouldn’t be able to hold on to the wet metal…so, when some children screamed and pleaded to stay with me, my excuse was anchored on the side-lines of this massive extension from land-to-land.

I was content at first. But then, standing in a downpour with a pair of frozen fingers wrapped in mine and everything becoming wet, cold, miserable and itchy from the drenched fabric, it was time to find some warmth!

Photo Credit | 604pulse.com

We headed to the only place I saw…the store!

Now with daughter in tow and cold noses, we ventured into the very Canadian and very expensively cute place. Someone told us to try the fudge and I refused after seeing the cost of it. But, marvelled at all the goodies instead. I ended up giving into the moose cookie cutters and thought it was time to head out, before I gave into to anything else.

Photo Credit | jaybanks.ca & kevineng.ca Photography

We walked the beautifully cobbled stone pathway again and I thoroughly enjoyed the lights. Frozen fingers, was now looking like a drenched rat and I figured it was time to get us some Hot Chocolate! We warmed our finger tips and listened to an incredible band spread some Christmas Cheer our way.

Photo Credit | jaybanks.ca & kevineng.ca Photography

The group came and found us so I was excited to finally get back to my minivan and turn on the heaters. It was obvious they were not done with their thrills yet and asked me to go for the walk….I thought it was the plank and it sure felt like that!!! The nice thing about this one was that I could actually see the huge anchors in the side of the cliff! This was still crazy and way out of my comfort zone….

*gulp*

Despite my screaming brain, I obliged! I pretty much prayed the whole way while walking along it.

Then, I saw something!

I swear it was the weight scale and the red light was blinking at the base of the wooden planks under our feet in one area.

Guess what it read?

…it blinked…

…and blinked…

 

RUN!

 

Yah!

 

Totally freaked me out. I started praying out loud! Almost knocked all my kids down to get off that thing!

Photo Credit | janybanks.ca & kevineng.ca Photography

But I didn’t, and remained calm because we were almost at the end, I guess.

I was so susceptible to being the Grinch that night and tried my hardest to enjoy the day. As we walked out of the glittering downpour, the kids got their certificates for crossing the bridge and I tried to maintain our tired, cold, and wet children. I thought about some of the highlights of the place and really sought a good heart about it all. Seeking the diamond in-the-rough so-to-speak. But then, my husband got stuck at the desk. For a long time. They charged us more going out and really dampened the end of the day!

We probably will never go back there again….but, I will never forget that day!

Going home we reflected on the positive things that we LOVED about our time there…

Like our friends that we were with, and the ambience that the place deserves because of the history of what it is all about, the music, and the magic of all the lights!

All in all, we left with beautiful memories, despite our problems!

 

Don’t let the Grinch of regret, problems, disappointments, ruin your Christmas moments!

 

Phillipians 4:8

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

 


 

 

 

Save 76% off retail value and pay only $11.99 for this Antique Hurricane Lantern

Women’s Waffle Knit Thermal Sleepwear Set $9.99 + Free Shipping | Hot Jewel Heart Pendant Scarf $6.99 + Free Shipping 

4-Piece Stainless Steel Barbecue Set $17.99 + Free Shipping

Northpoint BelleLune Heavy Weight Luxurious Sheet Set from $13.99 + Free Shipping | Xit All-In-One Handheld Tool Kit $6 + Free Shipping  Lavish Silk Blend Pashmina Fashion Scarf $6 + Free Shipping 

4-Piece Set: Hotel Comfort 1800 Series Organic Bamboo Bed Sheets from $19.99 + Free Shipping

Leave a Reply

